Monday, 31 May 2010

Eurobasket to expand to 24 teams from 2013

FIBA Europe has decided to expand the number of participating teams for EuroBasket 2013 from 16 to 24. The change means the elimination of the Division A and B concept.

EuroBasket Women will continue with a 16 team field.

"The growth of our sport in Europe means that the level of play across the continent has improved and we believe that now is the time to expand the tournament," commented FIBA Europe President Olafur Raffnson. "Expanding from 16 to 24 teams is an important step in allowing basketball to continue to flourish."

It is unclear how the move will affect Scotland and Wales who, under current rules, are not allowed to play in the same division as Great Britain. The two smaller home nations are presently in Division C.

A new rule by which coaches will be allowed to bring 14 players to EuroBasket and EuroBasket Women was also approved. One hour before each game the coach will be required to name the 12 players who will play in that game.


No comments:

Post a Comment