Monday, 3 May 2010

Newcastle's Chapman, Flournoy head awards list

Newcastle Eagles duo Joe Chapman and Fabulous Flournoy have been named, respectively, as the Player and Coach of the Year.

The awards from the Basketball Journalists Association come at the end of the 2009-10 season in which the Tyneside outfit secured the double of winning the British Basketball League and BBL Trophy.

Sheffield Sharks centre Tafari Toney has won the Pete Jacques Trophy for Best British Player in the BBL.

While Chicago Bulls forward Luol Deng has been named International Player of the Year for the Great Britain star’s performances in the NBA.

Chapman claims the Player of the Year prize despite being Newcastle’s sixth man for much of the campaign. The American edged out Sheffield’s Mike Cook (second) and Glasgow’s Rob Yanders (third) in a poll of media who regularly cover the domestic league.

Flournoy picks up Coach of the Year for guiding the Eagles to a fourth league title in five years, beating out Sheffield’s Atiba Lyons (second) and Cheshire’s Paul Smith (third).

Toney averaged 16.3 points and 9.7 rebounds to help Sheffield lift the BBL Cup in January before the Sharks missed out on the league crown on the final weekend of the season. The Great Britain cap narrowly beat out Newcastle’s Darius Defoe for the Pete Jacques Trophy for the leading British Player in the BBL. The award has been newly named in honour of much-respected basketball journalist Pete Jacques who died last month.

“Pete was a good guy so I’m honoured to get this,” said Toney. “It’s been a great season even if I’m disappointed that we’re not in the playoff final."

Luol Deng takes the International Player of the Year award after helping the Chicago Bulls reach the first round of the NBA play-offs. The Londoner, who is expected to feature for Great Britain in this summer’s Eurobasket qualifiers, finished just ahead of Unicaja Malaga’s Joel Freeland in the voting with the University of Washington’s Matthew Bryan-Amaning in third following his impressive performances Stateside in March’s NCAA Tournament.

BJAUK Awards Winners 2009-10
Player of the Year: 1. Joe Chapman, 2. Mike Cook, 3. Rob Yanders
(Others receiving votes, in order, were: Charles Smith, EJ Harrison, Jason Johnson, Reggie Bratton, Jessie Sapp, Shawn Myers)
Coach of the Year: 1. Fab Flournoy, 2. Atiba Lyons, 3. Paul Smith
(Others: Dave Titmuss, Rob Paternostro, Sterling Davis, Tony Garbelotto)
Pete Jacques Award for Best British Player in the BBL: 1. Tafari Toney, 2. Darius Defoe, 3. Olu Babalola
(Others: Anthony Martin, Sam Cricelli, James Jones, Mike Martin, Perry Lawson, Ibrahim Gariba, Andrew Bridge, Drew Sullivan)
International Player of the Year: 1. Luol Deng, 2. Joel Freeland, 3. Matthew Bryan-Amaning
(Others: Andrew Betts, Justin Robinson, Nate Reinking, Pops Mensah-Bonsu, Robert Archibald)


No comments:

Post a Comment